UAC popup every fbackup start (Windows 7)

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
fuggi
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:36 am

Postby fuggi » Thu Mar 18, 2010 4:53 pm

Hello!


Thanks for providing this great backup tool, I really love this tool to run my backups. I have been using this tool for quite a while now on WinXP and now moved to Win 7.


Now, everytime I start the program I get a UAC popup telling me that the programm wants to change something on my PC. Even if I select "Run as Administrator" I get this pop up. The application is running fine besides that but I do not see a reason for this popup.


Is the program doing something special on startup and do all users get this popup?


Thanks for your feedback!

fuggi



Softland
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:19 pm

Hi,


You can avoid the UAC popup for FBackup only if you disable UAC.



fuggi
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:36 am

Postby fuggi » Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:42 pm

Hmm...it does not really sound like a good idea to disable the UAC, this sound more like a workaround. But it sounds like there are no changes planned on the program.



Softland
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:53 pm

Hi,


There are no changes to be made in FBackup.

Please note that Windows shows the UAC popup for each application that uses some resources as Volume Shadow Copy service (used by FBackup to copy open files)



TheFoxMan
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:24 pm

Postby TheFoxMan » Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:44 pm

fuggi - I too felt your pain and found a solution at the following Win 7 support forum. It's a bit long but lots of screenshots make it very easy to follow, and now I can run FBackup with no UAC prompt.


http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/11949-elevated-program-shortcut-without-uac-prompt-create.html


I hope this helps.




Return to “General”