Impossible to find the specified path

Post tutorials on using FBackup, or ask a "How Can I" question
officebackup
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:40 am

Impossible to find the specified path

Postby officebackup » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:13 pm

TIme to time I had got a problem dguring the back up.
ERROR: IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND THE SPECIFIED PATH

Cant' understand the problem. The destination of my back up is a pen drive mounted over a router.
I have to pc, one working perfectly with FBackup, never problem.
The other one time to time catch such problem.
I restart pc, restart program, restar router... . and suddenly it restart to work.
I don't know the reason of this problem.
The pen drive is correctly connected...
With another program of backup it works ....
So really I don't know waht to do.
Someone can help me??

Thanks

Softland
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Impossible to find the specified path

Postby Softland » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:42 am

Hi,

1. Is the destination accessed as mapped drive or with UNC path?
2. Is the backup scheduled or you manually execute it?
3. Do you have the latest version of FBackup 6.3.278?

officebackup
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:40 am

Re: Impossible to find the specified path

Postby officebackup » Thu Dec 22, 2016 9:47 am

Hi,
thanks to answer.
1.The destination as mapped as drive.
In the Fbackup destination menu I select "Local Disk" and from selections I choose my destination: (\\fritzbox) (Y:)

In Windows under COMPUTER I can see:
LOCAL DISK : C - D
DVD/CD: E - F
Path of net: Verbatim-STORENGO-01 (\\fritz.box) (Z:) and Verbatim-STORENGO-11 (\\fritz.box) (Y:)

The first path (\\fritz.box) (Z:) is used correctly and without problem on first computer. Never had problem there.
The second path (\\fritz.box) (Y:) is used on second computer.

The problem I have catched is only on the second computer, and I can't understand reason because it is the same configuration about backup.
With another backup software I tested the configuration and everything is ok.

2. The back up is scheduled, but to be sure I configured another test manually backup and I have catched the same problem.
THIS IS THE MESSAGE ERROR:
[22/12/2016 10.40.29] FBackup 6.3.278
[22/12/2016 10.40.29] C:\Program Files\Softland\FBackup 6\bBackup.exe /GUI {11111111-1111-1111-1111-222222222222} /JOB {E63758E4-499C-4AB7-91DB-EA862C7AA32F}
[22/12/2016 10.40.29] Search for "Warning: " and "Error: " to locate warnings and errors in this log file
[22/12/2016 10.40.29] Operating system: Windows Vista (TM) Business Service Pack 2 (Build )
Processor[0] : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 4300 @ 1.80GHz
Processor[1] : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 4300 @ 1.80GHz
Physical memory (free/total) : 914 MB/3316 MB
User : PC-Trakovic\Trakovic
Admin/BkPriv/RePriv : True/True/True
IsWOW64 : False
Locale : Italiano (Italia)
Installed antiviruses:
Panda Free Antivirus

[22/12/2016 10.40.30] Opening file "C:\Users\Trakovic\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\FBackup.hst"
[22/12/2016 10.40.31] Inizio processo di backup per "FB Test ripristino" su 22/12/2016 10.40.31
[22/12/2016 10.40.31] Test destinazione backup (Disco fisso locale)
Backup aborted. Reason:
Impossibile creare cartella "Y:\FB Test ripristino". Impossibile trovare il percorso specificato
Backup aborted. Reason:
Impossibile creare cartella "Y:\FB Test ripristino". Impossibile trovare il percorso specificato
Prossimo backup schedulato: Non schedulato
Backup aborted after 1.02 minute(s) at 22/12/2016 10.41.31 with 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
[22/12/2016 10.41.32] Errore: Impossibile creare cartella "Y:\FB Test ripristino". Impossibile trovare il percorso specificato
[22/12/2016 10.41.32] Closing file "C:\Users\Trakovic\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\FBackup.hst

It says: Impossible to create folder Y:\\ FB Test ripristino" . Impossible to find the specified path. Backup aborted.

But that Path I can choose normally from Backup menu destination...and with another software that path is ok. And in first computer the path work perfectly with FBackup software ( but difference path device)

3. Yes the version is last one 6.3.278 on both computers

Greetings

Softland
Posts: 1487
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Impossible to find the specified path

Postby Softland » Fri Dec 23, 2016 2:03 pm

Hi,

Do you have the same problem if you use the UNC path instead of the mapped drive? (\\fritz.box)
Are the share permissions the same on both computers?

Do you have the same problem if you manually run the backup after you opened Backup4all as administrator? (right click on Backup4all.exe and select "Run as administrator")

officebackup
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:40 am

Re: Impossible to find the specified path

Postby officebackup » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:05 am

Actually if I try the UNC path, I cant' find USB conneceted on the router. In tnetwork I can see only the two PCs.
So that cant' reach the router.
About running in admistrator mode, when I do it I can't see the USB reachable.... the device has a red cross over icon. so this is the problem.... when it try to open the folder there... dont' find
device.. but why??
When I run as user, the usb is reachable, I mean I can see the icon od the device reachable... but It is doesn't work.
So we have understand that there is a problem to reach the device ... for some reason sometime it works properly and I am still not able to understand where is the solution. Now I leave the program to start as admistrator in order to study the problem. Thanks for collaboration. Any Idea will be welcome.

officebackup
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:40 am

Re: Impossible to find the specified path

Postby officebackup » Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:08 pm

I performed the backup finally! I forced to run in admistrator mode and I have used UNCpath. Now I can see the path correctly in network. The back up is running. But still remain to understand why other computer works fine without such kind of problem, and without UNC path, just local disk.Anyway thanks for collaboration because it stimulated the research of the solution.

Happy new year


Return to “Tutorials”