How to move Backup Properties to replaced hard drive

Post tutorials on using FBackup, or ask a "How Can I" question
Fless
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:46 am

How to move Backup Properties to replaced hard drive

Postby Fless » Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:53 am

I am about to replace my hard drive c:, which apparently contains the backup properties. I don't backup anything from C:, but have a mirror backup for a different physical drive (S:), which holds all my source files. Backups are to a NAS (Z:).

What steps should be taken once I have installed the new hard drive c: in my PC (and installed FBackup, I assume), in order to get the backups to show up? I want to avoid doing a new backup since it takes so long (300GB).

Or am I stuck having it make the full copy? Thank you!

Softland
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: How to move Backup Properties to replaced hard drive

Postby Softland » Fri Feb 13, 2015 3:15 pm

Hi,

You can make a backup of your FBackup configurations using the plugin, or you can simply install FBackup on the new C: drive, then open in FBackup the .fkc catalog file from the backup destination. That will recreate the backup job in FBackup so you can continue it.

Fless
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:46 am

Re: How to move Backup Properties to replaced hard drive

Postby Fless » Wed Feb 18, 2015 2:11 am

That worked perfectly with no hassles. Thank you!


Return to “Tutorials”