Problem with Scheduled Tasks

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
cisltd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:09 pm

Problem with Scheduled Tasks

Postby cisltd » Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:33 pm

Hi guys,

Got an issue scheduling backups on a server. They were working and have recently stopped. I have updated the product to the latest version (FBackup version 7.3 Build 403).

If I run the backups manually, everything works as expected but if I schedule them nothing happens.

Can anyone shed any light on this? I've trawled through most of the troubleshooting posts and haven't yet found a fix.

Thanks,

John

Softland
Posts: 1535
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Problem with Scheduled Tasks

Postby Softland » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:00 am

Hi,

In Control Panel->Task Scheduler, is there any error for the scheduled task?
Do you have the same problem if you schedule the backup to run after 1-2 minutes, while you are in front of the computer? Does the backup starts? Is the task executed?

cisltd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:09 pm

Re: Problem with Scheduled Tasks

Postby cisltd » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:04 pm

No error displayed - Last Run time displays 'Never'.

Same issue if I reschedule the backup during the day (even while logged in). Task doesn't start. Last Run time displays 'Never'.

If I run the task manually, it all works flawlessly. I have created these tasks with the built in Domain Admin account so it can't be permissions related.

Time/date on the server is fine. Time zone set correctly. Other scheduled tasks working correctly, even new ones I create.

cisltd
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:09 pm

Re: Problem with Scheduled Tasks

Postby cisltd » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:26 pm

Issue has been resolved :D

We had migrated DC and this server's local security policy hadn't been updated to allow 'log on as batch job' in the Default Domain Controllers GPO.


Return to “Troubleshooting”