Hung Job: Cannot backup while another action is in progress

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
MLafferty
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Hung Job: Cannot backup while another action is in progress

Postby MLafferty » Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:27 pm

A settings backup job gets hung after it starts. I cannot be paused, cancelled, tested, or any other action. All are grayed out even after a reboot. No other back-ups are scheduled until 1:00 AM. This behavior began spontaneously a few months ago. At one point it was possible to delete the job and set a new one one for settings backup. It worked manually. But the next automatic run failed.

Log:
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] FBackup 6.4.309
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] C:\Program Files (x86)\Softland\FBackup 6\bBackup.exe /R {1A853C51-7A93-469E-88E0-ADDBE7E4E12C} -PRIORITY 2
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Search for "Warning: " and "Error: " to locate warnings and errors in this log file
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Operating system: Windows 10 Pro (Build )
Processor[0] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4300U CPU @ 1.90GHz
Processor[1] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4300U CPU @ 1.90GHz
Processor[2] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4300U CPU @ 1.90GHz
Processor[3] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4300U CPU @ 1.90GHz
Physical memory (free/total) : 5653 MB/8097 MB
User : DELETED
Admin/BkPriv/RePriv : True/True/True
IsWOW64 : True
Locale : English (United States)
Installed antiviruses:
Windows Defender

[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Opening file "C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\FBackup.hst"
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Starting backup for "Settings" at 3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Name: Backup Configurations (built-in)
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Checking backup destination (Network)
[3/5/2017 12:45:31 AM] Opening file "C:\Users\Mike Lafferty\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\Catalogs\Settings.fkc"
Backup aborted. Reason:
Cannot backup or restore FBackup 6 settings while another action is in progress
Next scheduled backup: 3/12/2017 12:45:00 AM
Backup aborted after 3:22:20 hour(s) at 3/5/2017 4:07:51 AM with 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
[3/5/2017 4:07:53 AM] Closing file "C:\Users\Mike Lafferty\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\Catalogs\Settings.fkc"
[3/5/2017 4:07:53 AM] Opening file "C:\Users\Mike Lafferty\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\Catalogs\Settings.fkc"
[3/5/2017 4:07:53 AM] Closing file "C:\Users\Mike Lafferty\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\Catalogs\Settings.fkc"
[3/5/2017 4:07:53 AM] Closing file "C:\Users\Mike Lafferty\AppData\Roaming\Softland\FBackup 6\FBackup.hst"
Cannot backup or restore FBackup 6 settings while another action is in progress
Next scheduled backup: 3/12/2017 12:45:00 AM

Softland
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Hung Job: Cannot backup while another action is in progress

Postby Softland » Mon Mar 13, 2017 9:18 am

Hi,

Is it a large backup job?
If you open Task Manager, can you see the bbackup.exe process running?
If not, in order to stop the backup execution, please kill the bbackup.exe process from Task Manager.

MLafferty
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Hung Job: Cannot backup while another action is in progress

Postby MLafferty » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:07 pm

It's a small job, just FBackup settings. It usually only takes a few minutes to run. Once it's run it's stuck. All controls are grayed-out (see attached photo). It has added the text "[Load]" to the job title, and seems to be in a limbo state.
Attachments
IMG_6302.JPG
IMG_6302.JPG (109.71 KiB) Viewed 5378 times

Softland
Posts: 1521
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Hung Job: Cannot backup while another action is in progress

Postby Softland » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:27 am

Hi,

We found the problem and we will fix it.

MLafferty
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Hung Job: Cannot backup while another action is in progress

Postby MLafferty » Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:19 am

Well thank you. After noodling around a bit more it appears to be hung just loading the job. The back-up was successful. It's just trying to get to the job info. You [probably already figured this out.


Return to “Troubleshooting”