Duplicate Catalog Files on Destination Drive

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
msc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:10 am

Postby msc » Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:28 am

I do 3 backup jobs which have worked well for months, and created 3 corresponding .fkc catalog files.


Then, the destination drive created duplicate CATALOG files with their names appearing like this example: Firefox Profiles, AND Firefox Profiles(1). There is still only one folder with my mirror files in them for each backup job. (3 mirror folders and 6 catalog files)


I deleted everything on the destination drive, and started from scratch, running all 3 backup jobs as I did the first time.


Now, I am not getting duplicate .fkc files (I am back to 3 catalog files), but the files names still end in (1).


I am assuming there are corresponding files on my C drive that are not matching up.


Is there some way to fix this by deleting a file or files on the C drive, or must I uninstall FBackup and start all over again?


Can you tell me what is causing this?


Addendum: I just found the fkcFiles Folder on the C drive (Documents and Settings\Application Data). That folder only contains the 3 original catalog files, not any duplicates.



Softland
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:33 pm

Hi,


Please rename each backup job from Backup Properties->General page.

Press Save and see the catalog file name will be modified in destination.



msc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:10 am

Postby msc » Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:17 pm

Thanks.


Since I have all backup jobs named the same on 4 computers, I would rather not change the names on this one PC if possible.



    Are there some files I can delete on the PC, or, as a last resort, do a complete uninstall and reinstall to keep my backup job names the same?


    What caused this?


Softland
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:54 pm

Hi,


I understand now you have in FBackup "Firefox Profiles" and in destination you have "Firefox Profiles(1).fkc". That happened probably because the Firefox Profiles.fkc in destination was in use by another application antivirus or something and cannot be accessed by FBackup during the backup.


You need to rename in FBackup "Firefox Profiles" to "Firefox Profiles 2" and press Save.

After that you open again Backup Properties and change the name of the job from "Firefox Profiles 2" to "Firefox Profiles". This way the backup catalog name will also be changed in destination.



msc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:10 am

Postby msc » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:20 pm

It worked. Thank you very much.


I noticed something while taking these actions.


1) The backup "folder" names don't exactly match the corresponding catalog file names or the backup job names.


2) Thunderbird Profiles backup job splits the backup folders into two backup folders: Thunderbird and Registries. But only one catalog file called Thunderbird profiles.


Why is this?


Is it possible to 1) have the folder names match the backup job names? 2) Combine Thunderbird and Registries folders?



Softland
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:31 pm

Hi,


1. The name of that folder is fixed in the plugin.


2. The folder structure depends on the plugin for that application.

In this case, the Thunderbird and Registries folders cannot be combined.



msc
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:10 am

Postby msc » Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:21 pm

Thanks for the help and explanations.


One thing I want to make sure I have correct. You stated the following instruction above:


You need to rename in FBackup "Firefox Profiles" to "Firefox Profiles 2" and press Save. After that you open again Backup Properties and change the name of the job from "Firefox Profiles 2" to "Firefox Profiles". This way the backup catalog name will also be changed in destination.


Do I need to run a backup job after changing the job name, or just change the name > save > and change the name back?



Softland
Posts: 1552
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Postby Softland » Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:33 pm

Hi,


You don't need to run the backup, just save the backup job with the new name and it will be updated in destination.




Return to “Troubleshooting”