destination drive not showing as external

Post here if you have problems installing or using FBackup
nhmom
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:50 am

destination drive not showing as external

Postby nhmom » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:22 am

I'm not sure what has changed. I have three external drives (1-1 TB, 1-2TB and 1-3TB) that I back up to. I realized one drive had quit working on me last week when I was looking for something. So, I figured I'd better do an update of my backups as I hadn't done one in a while (Nov 2016). Each drive has different portions of backup on them due to sizes of the drives. Between the three, I have two backups of all of my docs and pictures.

My issue is when I go to do the backup today after updating to version 6.4.309, the only way for me to access the external drive for the destination of the files is to select it under local disk rather than external disk. I believe it has always been selected as external disk. Is this a problem as long as I can get to the drive? I've never had to change my selections once I set up a backup. The drive letter has been assigned to the drives. But, the backups keep looking for the drive under the locked drive. There are passwords on the drives.

Thank you for any help. I'm not sure what else I should be giving for information.

Softland
Posts: 1548
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: destination drive not showing as external

Postby Softland » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:07 am

Hi,

Does Windows recognized the destination drive as local or as external? We get the information about the drive type from Windows OS.
If you select that backup destination drive as local, can you run the backup?

nhmom
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:50 am

Re: destination drive not showing as external

Postby nhmom » Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:58 pm

I don't know how to tell if Windows is recognizing it as a local or external drive. I do know that when I select "local" from the destination and scroll to Drive M the backup does seem to be working. At least it hasn't given me any error messages yet.

Is this okay to run as local? It is showing as HDD in my list of jobs in FBackup.

If it is okay to run this way, I don't understand why the change. I've been using FBackup for years and always selected as external drive. The drive I am using today is a brand new drive and a full new backup. When I started having this problem with the drive letters I was afraid to update my "working" backups for fear I would have no backup.

Softland
Posts: 1548
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: destination drive not showing as external

Postby Softland » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:19 am

Hi,

You can use it as local drive if it works this way.

nhmom
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:50 am

Re: destination drive not showing as external

Postby nhmom » Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:02 pm

Thank you. Do you know what changed that it doesn't see the drives in the correct format any more? I am still using the same setup as I've had for years.

Thank you. I'm just trying to understand.

Patty


Return to “Troubleshooting”