Full backup without clearing the destination repository?

You can ask general questions, share opinions or advices about FBackup
pierrem
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 10:00 pm

Full backup without clearing the destination repository?

Postby pierrem » Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:29 pm

Can I do what the subject says... in other words FBackup would only delete the 2 catalog files before starting the backup.

Thanks

Softland
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Full backup without clearing the destination repository?

Postby Softland » Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:20 pm

Hi,

No, you cannot do that in FBackup. You can use our commercial edition, Backup4all, in order to keep multiple versions of the backup.

pierrem
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 10:00 pm

Re: Full backup without clearing the destination repository?

Postby pierrem » Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:17 pm

Actually I don't want multiple versions. I just want the most recent. However if a file is accidentally erased in the source, it should still be there in the destination if you didn't wipe it out before starting the full mirror backup! The idea would be for the wipe out of the destination to be a selectable option via a checkbox.

Just a suggestion.

Softland
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 7:57 am

Re: Full backup without clearing the destination repository?

Postby Softland » Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:46 am

Hi,

You can use the Mirror backup type for that. The backup in destination is updated with new and modified files.
The files deleted in sources are not removed from backup in destination, only if you select the "Remove excluded or deleted files from backup" option from the Mirror page.


Return to “General”